Sambalpur Municipality chairperson looses no-trust motion

The chairperson of Sambalpur municipality of BJP lost in the no-confidence motion today.  Nineteen councillors of the 29-member Samabalpur Municipality had moved the no confidence motion against the chairperson of Sambalpur municipality, Reena Trivedi.  Following the motion, the administration had fixed May 7 as the day for voting.  

The chairperson Reena Trivedi had moved the Orissa high court against the voting. The high court had also imposed restriction on the counting of votes. The voting was held on May 7 and the ballot were kept in the sealed vote box. Twenty three councillors had voted on that day. But though the chairperson was present during the voting, she chose not to vote. On May 11, the High Court rejected the petition of the chairperson and directed for vote counting.   “As per the direction of the High Court, the vote counting was held today. 19 of the 23 councillors have voted for the no-confidence motion. One vote has been rejected and three councillors voted against the no-confidence motion.

Chairperson Reena Trivedi has lost in the no confidence motion,” said additional district magistrate, Madhab Chandra Bariha. “The vice chairperson of the municipality will remain in charge until a new chairperson of the municipality is elected,” said Bariha.   Twelve councillors of Congress, 7 dissident councillors of the BJP, 3 councillors of the BJP and one Independent councillor took part in the voting process.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top